Skip to content

Types of Care

What You Need to Know:


Different levels of care:

In order to help you select the appropriate level of services, the New Mexico Health Care Association and New Mexico Center for Assisted Living (NMHCA / NMCAL) wants to introduce you to and inform you about the different levels of care.

Choosing the right setting:

How do you know which type of facility will best suit your needs and preferences? Consulting your personal physician is always an important step when making a decision about long-term care.

Facility types and summary of services:

Listed below is each type of facility with a brief summary of services that each type of facility offers.

Once you choose the type of facility that is right for you or your loved one, use the Facility Finder to find facilities located in New Mexico.

What Each Type of Care Offers:

Retirement/Independent Living Facilities provide:

  • Living Accommodations and Meals Only
  • Lowest Intensity Level of Service

Assisted Living/Residential Care Facilities provide:

  • 24-Hour Staff Protective Oversight
  • Three Meals A Day in a Dining Room Type Atmosphere
  • Coordination of Personal and Social Services
  • Transportation
  • Housekeeping, Maintenance, and Laundry Services
  • Medium Intensity Level of Services

Nursing Facilities provide:

  • 24-Hour Nursing Care
  • Rehabilitative Care
  • May Provide Sub-Acute Care
  • Highest Intensity Level of Service

Skilled Nursing Facilities provide:

  • 24-Hour Nursing Care
  • Increased Emphasis on Rehabilitative Therapy for Convalescent Patients
  • May Provide Sub-Acute Care
  • Highest Intensity Level of Service

*Nursing facilities and skilled nursing facilities are required to meet the same qualifications concerning level of service in order to be certified by Medicare or Medicaid.

Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities Provide:

  • Comprehensive Psycho-Social Services
  • Therapeutic Intervention
  • Remedial Education
  • A Homelike Setting
  • Medium to High-intensity Level of Services

*Please note: Facilities that participate in Medicare or Medicaid must meet National Fire Protection Association and Life Safety Code and Federal Regulations for Long-term Care Facilities.

In addition,, developed by the American Health Care Association (AHCA), offers more consumer information on all types of long-term care.